top of page
Scientific Advisory Board

Recenly the SAB has been  strengthened with the inventor of the heparin technology Prof. Dr. Chris Reutelingsperger and clinical experts in the sepsis field (Prof. Tom van der Poll (AMC, Amsterdam, The Netherlands) and Dr. Robert Frithiof (Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden)).

Prof. Chris Reutelingsperger​

Chris Reutelingsperger is Professor of Biochemistry of Apoptosis at the Cardiovascular Research Institute (CARIM) of Maastricht University. He is PI of the research theme “Vascular Aspects”. He supervises the research lines addressing molecular and cellular

mechanisms of vascular aging, includingatherosclerosis and vascular calcification. His interests focus on cell death programs, phagocytosis, autophagy, annexins, with emphasis on annexins A1 and A5, and vitamin K-dependent proteins. His strategy encompasses establishing collaborations with clinical research and industry. Reutelingsperger discovered annexin A5 and invented the annexin A5-affinity assay to measure apoptosis. He is (co-)inventor of 10 granted patents and CSO of PharmaTarget, a biotech company which he co-founded in 2006. Reutelingsperger studied Biochemistry at the University of Utrecht and received his PhD degree from the Faculty of Medicine at Maastricht University in 1987. He was awarded the 5-years Senior Fellowship of the Royal Dutch Academy of Sciences (KNAW) in 1987. He published over 150 peer-reviewed papers.

Prof. Tom vd Poll

Professor Dr Tom van der Poll is Professor of Medicine in the Academic Medical Center (AMC), University of Amsterdam, the Netherlands. He is Head of the Center of Experimental and Molecular Medicine and Chair of the Division of Infectious Diseases in this institution. Van der Poll is board certified in Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases.

His training included a postdoctoral research fellowship in Cornell University Medical College in New York (1993-1995). Van der Poll is a former Fellow of the Royal Dutch Academy of Arts and Sciences (1995-2000). Van der Poll is council member of the Global Sepsis Alliance (GSA, and immediate past Chair of the International Sepsis Forum (ISF,, an organization headed by a council of international experts and opinion leaders that focuses on improving the management of sepsis and septic shock. He is a member of the “International Task Force Committee for Sepsis Definitions” (installed by ESICM & SCCM) and the “Surviving Sepsis Guidelines Committee”. Van der Poll’s research focuses on the innate immune and procoagulant response during sepsis. He published > 650 articles on this topic.

Dr Robert Frithiof

Associate Professor Dr. Robert Frithiof is Professor in experimental anesthesia and intensive care at Uppsala University, Sweden since 2012.  In parallel and part time Frithiof is performing research in the field of sepsis with 26 papers accepted and published since 2006.

Since 2010 Frithiof fulfills the position of Associate Professor and Group Leader at the department of physiology & pharmacology at the Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden. Frithiof owns a combination of many years of research as well as practical intensive care experience.

bottom of page